Motorized scooters are trending all over the United States. In most metropolitan cities, Lime and other motorized scooter rental companies make renting scooters and bicycles cheaper and faster than other forms of transportation. Because of these qualities, motorized scooters have been very popular--but there may be unforeseen risks associated with them.
Tennessee just passed a law stating that individuals may get arrested for drunk driving while on an electric scooter. The law explains that these scooters will be considered motor-driven vehicles and thus the driver may receive a DUI.
The law may have stemmed from an incident where an intoxicated 26-year-old died while riding a scooter. In Tennessee, if you are caught riding a motorized scooter with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .08 or higher, you may face up to two days in jail and a $350 court fine.
Will New York be the next state to give DWIs on electric scooters?
New York does not yet have any laws regarding DWIs on electric scooters. This means that DWIs may be issued on a case-by-case basis. If you plan on drinking and riding a scooter, you may want to make sure you are not at risk of getting a DWI.
Under New York law, an electric scooter may be considered a motorized vehicle. If so, here are the BAC limits you should know to avoid a DWI.
New York law enforcement may charge you with DWI if:
- You are over 21 years-old but your BAC is above 0.08%
- You are driving a commercial motor vehicle and are 21 or older but your BAC is above 0.04%
- You are younger than 21 and have a BAC higher than 0.02%
The surest way to avoid a DWI on an electric scooter is to follow the allowed BAC as you would for driving a vehicle. Law enforcement officials have seen a number of scooter accidents. Finding a sober ride home may be a better option than taking a motorized scooter if you have had one too many alcoholic beverages.