One of the most serious traffic offenses one can face in New York is driving while intoxicated. You may not even know why you have been pulled over until the police officer asks you to submit to a breath test or a field sobriety test. Once this happens, you may wonder what your rights are.
Accusations of driving while intoxicated can come with serious repercussions in New York, if one is convicted that could affect the accused for months or years to come. That is why it is important to understand these types of charges, so one can wage a defense against them.
Car accidents can be devastating when someone dies, and when this happens some people in New York may be eager to point the finger at the individual they think is responsible for the crash, even before a trial commences. Unfortunately, this may be the case for one man who has been accused of drunk driving in a fatal accident in Smithtown, New York.
In New York, driving while intoxicated could have significant consequences, particularly if the alleged incident occurs while the accused is on the job. This is especially true if the accused is a police officer tasked with upholding the law.
A 31-year-old New York man was charged with driving while intoxicated after he allegedly struck and killed a pedestrian in the early morning hours of Jan. 5. According to Southampton Town police, he had never been taken into custody for drunk driving in the past. He may face additional charges in relation to the pedestrian death.
Drunk driving is always a serious issue, because it often results in an automobile accident, some of which are fatal. The magnitude of the situation seems to be even more pronounced when the drunk driver is said to be a teenager.
In 2009, New York passed Leandra's Law to impose harsher penalties on people convicted of drunk driving. Named after an 11-year old girl who lost her life in a drunk driving accident, the law makes driving drunk with a minor passenger a felony punishable by up to four years in prison. The prison sentence can reach seven years if the child is injured and 15 years if the child is killed. Leandra's Law also requires anyone convicted of an alcohol-related offense to have an ignition-interlock device installed in their vehicle.